Mast overboard!

  
“Whoa!! Do you see that? Look at the catamaran!” Captain Cool shouted towards me while I was cleaning the cockpit. I look over to see that their mast was at a 45 degree angle and bouncing towards the water. 

CC jumped into our dinghy to see how he could help. A few minutes later, three men in a speed boat rush over to their assistance. I continue cleaning as I watch the action. Suddenly CC is speeding over in the dinghy and the speed boat is towing the catamaran towards us. CC jumps on our boat, opens a stopper and tells me to get ready to work the winch. 

Suddenly my just cleaned cockpit is invaded by four guys with dirty feet and shoes, the dog from the catamaran comes to explore or seek safety, I’m not sure which, and as I offer to help push the boat away, the men politely ask me to move so they can do it. That’s fine. I am used to living in this masculine world, no reason to get upset by it or I would always be upset. I know my abilities so I don’t need to prove what a cool or strong chick I am 😉

They attach a line from our boat to the line of the mast on the catamaran and I press the button to lift it (yes we have electric winches, cheating I know!!). There is a lot of shouting “Be careful” and as all is in Spanish and I am now controlling something that can cause a lot of damage to people and boats, I listen carefully for any sign to stop. The ten people that dropped what they were doing to help, were spread out on the catamaran looking and checking to make sure things were in their place. 

The mast is now upright and the crew start securing lines to prevent it from falling again. The owner smiles and thanks everyone for their help. CC looks at me and says, “You did it!” I laugh and show the muscles on my arms. Really it was my finger and electricity that did it 🙂

  
It turns out that a part which secures the sty to the boat (sorry I don’t know all the sailing terms in English!!) was stripped and they need a new one. The owner runs off to see what he can find and our boat happily helps support the other mast until it’s fixed and ready to be independent again.

This is one of the many reasons why I love a sailor’s life. People are always there when you need them. You don’t even have to ask, people just come to your aid. I imagine this is how communities worked in the old days. People were always willing to help without expecting anything in return. 

The sailing community is an incredibly friendly community. People are always waving and saying hello. Sometimes people stop by to ask something and then they stay for a chat and drink or invite you to their boat for dinner. The chat is almost always happy; sailing stories, boat repairs, snorkelling, movies, books. All of the topics I love! I guess when you live such an easy going and carefree life, that’s all there is to talk about. 

After all the excitement was over, I carried on cleaning the cockpit smiling about how it was so nice to be a part of such a great community. I have truly found a gem in life! 

Leave a Reply

